Subscribe for Unlimited Access to Turtle’s History Quarter.

Includes content from Vanishing Ireland, Easter Dawn, Dublin Docklands, The Irish Pub, Maxol and many more, as well as Waterways Ireland, the Past Tracks project and hundreds of historical articles on Irish families, houses, companies and events.

1847 – Contents

 

Dedication

Introduction – 1847: The year it all began

Reviews of 1847

Art in 1847

 

January

 

New Year’s Day, 1847

Monday 4 January 1847The Comanche Warriors and the Free-Thinking Germans

 

February

 

Sunday 7 February 1847 – The Opium King and the Apostle of Temperance

Tuesday 9 February 1847 – An Alabaman reflects upon New Orleans

Friday 12 February 1847 – General Tom Thumb and the Prince of Humbugs

 

March

 

Monday 1 March 1847  – Lola Montez and the King of Bavaria

Friday 5 March 1847 –  Stephen Collins Foster: ‘Oh! Susanna, don’t you cry for me’

Tuesday 9 March 1847 –  The Girl who liked Dinosaurs

Saturday 13 March 1847  –  The Curse of Ignaz Semmelweis

Saturday 20 March 1847 – Pablo Fanque and Mr Kite

Tuesday 23 March 1847The Choctaw Nation and the Great Famine

 

April

 

Saturday 3 April 1847 – Frederick Douglass faces home

Thursday 15 April 1847  – The Bombardment of Tourane, Vietnam

Saturday 17 April 1847 – The Birth of Cartier

Thursday 22 April 1847 – The Rise and Fall of Khan Kenesary

Wednesday 28 April 1847 – Captain Baxter and the Barnstable Boys

 

May

 

Tuesday 4 May 1847 – Felix Mendelssohn and the Swedish Nightingale

Saturday 8 May 1847 – ‘Oh Give Me But Employ’

 

June

 

Tuesday 1 June 1847 – Dr Fabre-Tonnerre’s Polynesian dictionary

Tuesday 8 June 1847 – Abdülmecid: A tale of pianos, telegraphs, etiquette and famine

Thursday 10 June 1847 – The Birth of the Chicago Tribune

Friday 11 June 1847 – Death in the Arctic: The Franklin Expedition

 

July

 

Saturday 24 July 1847 – Mormons on the march: Of roadometers, choirs and baseball

Thursday 29 July 1847 –  Edward Lear and the Two Sicilys

 

August

 

Monday 2 August 1847Herald and Pandora: A chronicle of Panama belles, Irish Colonies and Giant Tortoises

 

September

 

Wednesday 1 September 1847 – Johann Gramp’s succulent vines

Monday 13 September – Mexico has Fallen, or How the USA Grew by a Third

Friday 17 September 1847 – The Tsar’s bizarre circus war

Wednesday 22 September 1847 – Royal Scandal in the House of Bourbon

Saturday 25 September 1847 – Extracts from the Norfolk News

 

October

 

Saturday 2 October 1847 – A Messianic Earthquake

Tuesday 12 October 1847 – Werner Siemens and the gutta-percha tree

 

November

 

Tuesday 2 November 1847 – Captain Hanson Gregory, doughnut inventor

Thursday 4 November 1847 – Of Chloroform and Ether

Saturday 20 November 1847 – Abide with Henry Lyte

Sunday 28 November 1847 – The murder of a ‘Divine Servant’

 

December

 

Sunday 12 December 1847 – Camila O’Gorman and the Jesuit

Christmas Day, 1847 – The King of Crackers

Christmas Day, 1847 – Richard Burton’s simian dictionary

 

Appendices

 

The new house at Lisnavagh

Literary Notes

Captain McClintock Bunbury’s Diary, 1847   

Benjamin Benson – A Bermudan Evangelical in Ireland

 

Further Reading